The Last Great Adventures – Or, What ‘Firsts’ Are Left?

The BBC had an interesting piece the other day about what’s left in terms of exploration. Many of the big ‘firsts’ have already been done, such as climbing Everest and travelling to the Poles.

So what’s left? Breaking records for doing things faster, or being the youngest or oldest. Some people combine the challenges to make a first. Last year, for example, former Wales international rugby player Richard Parks completed his own ‘737’ challenge – to climb the Seven Summits (the highest mountain on each continent) and reach the three Poles (counting the summit of Everest as both a Pole and one of the Seven Summits) in seven months. In fact, he was the first person to do it in a calendar year.

Of course, there are also technical challenges, such as underwater or space exploration. There are even some mountains which haven’t been climbed yet, whether because of their difficulty or political restrictions in reaching them.

If you could complete any great challenge, what would it be?

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment