New York, New York

I recently returned from my New Year’s trip to New York City with 9 friends. We had around 5 days all told, staying at the Kimberley Hotel in Midtown East, Manhattan. The hotel was great – we had two suites, on the 26th and 30th floor. Both rooms had balconies with views of the top of the Chrysler Building, which was pretty cool!

We packed a lot into the trip:

  • A helicopter flight over Manhattan (we went for the 12-15 minute tour with Helicopter Flight Services, which was well organised and well worth doing. It was very smooth and provided a great view)

Manhattan Helicopter Tour view 1

  • A trip on the Staten Island Ferry past the Statue of Liberty with a stop on Staten Island for lunch

Statue of Liberty - Black and White

  • The 9/11 memorial, which was tasteful but we were disgusted to see plenty of people taking smiling selfies

9/11 Memorial Names

  • Times Square, both at night and in the daytime

Times Square at Night 1

  • A wander around the Upper East Side past the Metropolitan Museum of Art
  • A trip to Brooklyn, with the view of Manhattan from Brooklyn Bridge Park and walking back over the bridge to Manhattan as the sun set (fabulous)

Manhattan and Brooklyn Bridge view 1

  • A walk around Central Park and the Upper East Side, followed by skating on the Central Park rink

Central Park view 2

  • The main concourse at Grand Central Station

Grand Central Tourists Bustle About

  • The view from The Top of the Rock (fantastic!)

Top of the Rock view 1

  • The High Line and the Meatpacking District

The High Line

  • Macys
  • Walked past the Empire State Building

Empire State Building

  • The Flatiron Building

Flatiron Building

To say nothing of New Year’s Eve in a rooftop bar!

It was good fun and though I didn’t love New York quite as much as I expected to, I still liked it. New Yorkers were friendlier than we expected! The subway system was a bit confusing and once tax and tips were taken into account, food and drink was pretty expensive.

I was able to tick off two of my bucket list items in one go – visiting New York and taking a helicopter ride. On the other hand, I’ve now added two new items to my list!

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

