Two Castles 10K Race Completed

As I posted a while ago, earlier this year I signed up for a 10k race as a bit of a challenge. I chose the Two Castles, the course for which is between Warwick Castle and Kenilworth Castle. I thought that would be a bit more interesting and notable than other courses.

The race was last Sunday and despite having to get there far earlier than was really necessary, I actually quite enjoyed it. My aim was to complete the race in under an hour. I’d managed it in training but I wasn’t sure how plausible it was for the actual race, because it’s quite a hilly course and obviously there were lots of other runners around, which there aren’t when I trained!

I’m delighted to say I finished in 56:51 which, as well as being comfortably under my 1 hour target, is the fastest I’ve yet run the distance.

Local people came out to support the runners throughout the race and cheered for other runners as well as their own friends and family. The crowds were thick in Kenilworth, especially up the hill at the end. For some reason, I didn’t struggle with the hill at all. I’d deliberately planned a training route which had some hills but I think it was partly because I had a bit of a second wind at that point – I was so keen to finish in under an hour!

Before I ran the race I was thinking that I probably wouldn’t do it again. Now, I’m not so sure…

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Physical Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Castles 10K Race Completed

  1. Pingback: A Look Back At My 2013 and A Look Forward to 2014 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

