Brecon Beacons Walking Weekend

I spent last weekend walking with my brother in the Brecon Beacons. It’s an idea that had been brewing since the weather on a weekend away last March ruined my plan to walk Sugar Loaf.

View of Pen – Y – Fan

We drove down on Saturday morning for the first day’s walk, which was a 9 mile walk around the Pen – Y – Fan horseshoe, taking in Corn Du, Cribyn, Fan – Y – Big and Pen – Y – Fan (the tallest mountain in south Wales) itself. All four are in a horseshoe ridge shape, though there is quite a drop and subsequent climb between some of them.

The walk done, we headed to the hostel where we were staying and had tepid showers before driving up to Brecon where we ate some Chinese.

Summit view from Sugar Loaf

The next morning we drove to Sugar Loaf. We had printed some instructions from the internet but the directions to the parking for the start of the walk were impossible to follow, so we ended up parking elsewhere and finding our own way using the map. This made it a much shorter walk – we were back at the car less than 2 hours after we set off – but that was just as well as we had to get back. Sugaar Loaf isn’t part of a range so the views from the top are truly panoramic and because it’s not as high as Pen – Y – Fan there were far less people, which is always nice!

Both great walks, I’m very glad we got to do them!

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Photography, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brecon Beacons Walking Weekend

  1. Pingback: A Look Back At My 2013 and A Look Forward to 2014 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

