New Year’s Resolutions

Here we are, 1 week into 2013. (Still not used to that). It seems an opportune time to talk about New Years Resolutions.

I don’t usually bother with them. I think if there’s something in your life you want to change (or know you should change) then waiting for a new year is artificial – you should do it, now.

That said, I have been pondering what I will be getting up to this year and I have decided that I want to run a 10k. It’s a good target – achievable but still a challenge.

I’ve got my eye on a couple of events. One is a proper 10k called the Two Castles Run. It’s a race between Warwick Castle and Kenilworth Castle, which means it’s local and has a bit of interest at the start and end! Apparently there are some uphill bits and a not terribly thrilling section which goes through a housing estate, so not perfect.

I’ve also got a few friends together for the Wolf Run. ‘Wolf’ stands for woods, obstacles, lakes and fields, so as you’ll have guessed it’s an off-road 10k! Each kilometre has an obstacle – watch the below video to get the idea. It looks exhausting and very muddy but great fun!

I’ve got plenty to train for!

What are your aims for 2013?

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Sport, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Year’s Resolutions

  1. A 10k is one on my list, too.
    Others are – do more hiking and keep a hiking journal (had a decent walk on Saturday),
    – read a book a week (not going to schedule – I’m still on a book of Seamus Heaney interviews, but it’s the sort of book you take your time over)
    – give up smoking (less said the better for this one šŸ˜‰ )

    I’d also like to learn a bit of leatherwork and archery. And to catch up with family more. They’re a good bunch, but I somehow never find the time!

  2. Pingback: Taken The Plunge – 10km Run In June | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

  3. Pingback: A Look Back At My 2013 and A Look Forward to 2014 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

