Bucket List Update: ‘Sailing A Boat’ Completed

The week before last I got an unexpected offer – the chance to tick off an item from my Bucket List by going sailing. I’ve never been and always wanted to (I’m still planning to learn next year, but that would just be small dinghies) so when the chance came up to help Mark, a former work colleague move his boat back to its permanent moorings in Brixham, Devon, I jumped at the chance.

While he was working on the boat I took the opportunity to walk the 5 miles to Kingswear, from where I caught the ferry across to Dartmouth. I’ve been there before and planned to return to Rockfish, a fantastic fish and chip restaurant I went to on my previous visit. Instead of the restaurant I went to their takeaway and had delicious (and enormous) fish and chips looking out over the harbour.

On the walk I took the opportunity to take lots of pictures, including trying out some more creative techniques such as you can see in this water shot.

There were also loads of these big beetles around. Some were alive but quite a few were dead, perhaps squashed by walkers.

The following morning, (by which time we’d been joined by Mark’s nephew) the boat was lifted into the water from the boatyard where it had been having repairs done to it. When the light was enough and we’d fortified ourselves with some toast, we headed out on the River Dart under motor towards the coast. We stopped in at Dartmouth again for breakfast before continuing to the open sea. After a short while we were able to put the sails up and I turned the engine off. Later I got to steer the boat with the tiller so I consider that sailing!

The weather cleared up somewhat as we went and the coastal views weren’t bad! We were even lucky enough to catch a glimpse of a couple of dolphins. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get decent pictures of that but I was so pleased to see them.

All in all, a successful trip! I have another Bucket List item to cross off as well but I’ll save that for another post.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Bucket List and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bucket List Update: ‘Sailing A Boat’ Completed

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 In Pictures | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

  2. Pingback: Bucket List Update: Sail a Boat #2 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

