Rutland Water Walk

Red SailRutland WaterForgottenTwo TreesTrioStanding To Attention
Over The FieldsPond On A Sunny DayTwo TreesTrack Through The Field

Rutland Water, a set on Flickr.

The latest Midland Hillwalkers trip was to Rutland Water. It was pretty flat so we had a longer route than usual at 15 miles.

The weather was beautiful (I’m very glad I brought the suncream; I saw some very burnt people) and though the scenery was less impressive than the more wild scenery on the previous two walks, it was still attractive in its own rural way.

The main problem with the walk was the fact that we weren’t anywhere near the water for most of it! We did a linear walk starting well to the west of the lake and finished at Edith Weston on the southern shore. This meant that for the first half to two thirds of the walk the lake wasn’t in sight and even when we were walking alongside it, the location of the footpath meant it was hundreds of metres away for part of that section.

There was also an extremely muddy section after the recent rain, but that can’t be helped!

Nevertheless, it was a good walk, although I did develop a blister on the ball of my left foot which complicated things even after I put a Compeed plaster on! On the positive side, I spotted what I think was a stoat, for the first time ever!

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Walking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

