Book Review: Eleven, by Mark Watson

I was recently gifted a big box of books by a family friend having a clear out. This was the first book I picked out to read. I’ve always liked Mark Watson when I’ve seen him on TV (he’s a comedian who does a few of the panel shows sometimes) but I had no idea he was also a novelist and I didn’t immediately realise he was the author of this book.

The ‘eleven’ of the title refers to the eleven people across London whose lives are affected by the ramifications of one event. Most of the story is told by focusing on the first person in the chain, Xavier Ireland, a late night talk show DJ who isn’t very good at taking the advice he dishes out to his listeners. Xavier is Australian and as the novel progresses we discover why he now lives in London, which is intricately connected to the reasons why he prefers to live a quiet life and not interfere with others.

It would have been nice to see a little more of some of the others in the chain, most of whom are very minor players. Still, it is interesting to see the connections, mostly unknown, between people and they all feel completely plausible and realistic.

I was impressed by this and I’ll definitely keep an eye out for more Mark Watson novels in the future – he’s clearly talented at more than just comedy.

8/10

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

