London 2012: 100 Days To Go

Today marks 100 days left until the beginning of the London 2012 Olympics.

 

I remember the announcement well. I was camping with friends in the Cotswolds when we heard. The following day was the July 7th bombings in London. It was really shocking to go from being awarded the greatest festival of humanity one day to carnage and death the next.

Still, on a more positive note – I need to start planning! I have to decide where to go to watch the Olympic Torch Relay (which is coming to my town, and on a Sunday, no less) and organise transport to get to my events, which are handball and basketball. I’ve had a space on my brother’s sofa bagged for a year, so my accommodation is sorted!

Are you as excited as I am for the Olympics?

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in London 2012 Olympics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to London 2012: 100 Days To Go

  1. Elaine says:

    Sadly, I am not as excited about the Olympics as you. I didn’t get tickets and think the ticket allocation system was hugely flawed – a friend applied for 5 different lots of tickets and got them all – we got nothing. Living near London, as I do, means that we are constantly reminded wherever we drive, or travel by train or tube, that there is going to be transport disruption in the summer and it is suggested that we change our working hours or travel patterns to accommodate it. I was very excited when we were awarded the Olympics, but my excitement is fading more and more the nearer we get. It makes me sound like a spoilsport, but I’ll watch it on TV and hope that we do well.
    Oops, that turned in to a bit of a ramble!

    • elentari86 says:

      I can completely understand that. I applied for quite a bit in the first round and got nothing. Admittedly, it was events like athletics, cycling and swimming which were bound to be popular, but got everything I applied for in the second ballot.

      It certainly wasn’t a perfect system!

Leave a Reply

