50 Things To Do Before You’re 11 3/4

The wonderful organisation that is the National Trust has today launched a campaign to get children to enjoy the outdoors. Their interesting marketing technique to kick this off is to issue a list of 50 things a child should do before they are 12.

Here is their list:

The 50 Things to Do Before you’re 11 ¾:

1. Climb a tree
2. Roll down a really big hill
3. Camp out in the wild
4. Build a den
5. Skim a stone
6. Run around in the rain
7. Fly a kite
8. Catch a fish with a net
9. Eat an apple straight from a tree
10. Play conkers
11. Throw some snow
12. Hunt for treasure on the beach
13. Make a mud pie
14. Dam a stream
15. Go sledging
16. Bury someone in the sand
17. Set up a snail race
18. Balance on a fallen tree
19. Swing on a rope swing
20. Make a mud slide
21. Eat blackberries growing in the wild
22. Take a look inside a tree
23. Visit an island
24. Feel like you’re flying in the wind
25. Make a grass trumpet
26. Hunt for fossils and bones
27. Watch the sun wake up
28. Climb a huge hill
29. Get behind a waterfall
30. Feed a bird from your hand
31. Hunt for bugs
32. Find some frogspawn
33. Catch a butterfly in a net
34. Track wild animals
35. Discover what’s in a pond
36. Call an owl
37. Check out the crazy creatures in a rock pool
38. Bring up a butterfly
39. Catch a crab
40. Go on a nature walk at night
41. Plant it, grow it, eat it
42. Go wild swimming
43. Go rafting
44. Light a fire without matches
45. Find your way with a map and compass
46. Try bouldering
47. Cook on a campfire
48. Try abseiling
49. Find a geocache
50. Canoe down a river

By my reckoning, I’d done 24 of these by the time I was about that age, and a couple more since.

I made my own list. It’s shorter and it isn’t limited to outdoor activities, although there is a definite outdoors slant. Some of my choices overlap the National Trust’s choices, and some are different. In no particular order:

  1. Climb a tree

    Up A Tree, by theloushe

  2. Learn to swim
  3. Read a book
  4. Learn to ride a bike
  5. Swim in the sea
  6. Go camping
  7. Bake a cake
  8. Skim a stone
  9. Try food from another country
  10. Climb a hill (or preferably, a mountain – maybe a small one)
  11. Fly a kite
  12. Have a picnic
  13. Play on a beach
  14. Take part in school sports day
  15. Feed the ducks at your local park
  16. Write a story
  17. See a pantomime
  18. Pet an animal
  19. Go sledging
  20. Have a snowball fight
  21. Build a snowman
  22. Make a snow angel
  23. Play in a paddling pool on a hot day

What would be on your list? What do you think of the National Trust’s list?

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 50 Things To Do Before You’re 11 3/4

  1. OurBoler says:

    Great list!! Kids should be outside.

  2. Elaine says:

    I think the National Trust list is great! Like you I had done about 25 of the things by the time I was that age and by the time I was in my mid teens I had probably done another half dozen.

Leave a Reply

