What Would You Do If You Woke Up In The Middle Of The Night?

About a week ago, the BBC posted a report about how sleeping solidly (or trying to, at least) through the night is a relatively modern invention. There is some evidence to suggest that in the past it was very common for people to sleep for a few hours, wake up and do something else, then go back to sleep.

Fake Sleeping Beauty, by Flood

In response, they posted another piece, this time about modern people who don’t try to sleep through the night, and how they spend the hours in between their first sleep and their second. The answers are interesting. One practices yoga, another paints, and two spend the time praying.

I’m quite lucky and usually sleep very well and uninterrupted. I like it like that! I wouldn’t want to be getting up in the middle of the night, however productive I could be as a result.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Would You Do If You Woke Up In The Middle Of The Night?

  1. k.m. says:

    Interesting! I am not sure I’d like it either. I’ve definitely had those days where I take a nap but end up just not waking up till the next morning, so I’m not sure it’d even work for me. It was interesting to see how some people have really taken to it and I know that for many people napping is an important part of their routine.

Leave a Reply

