The Best Inventions of 2011

There’s a fascinating feature in last week’s Time magazine on the 50 best inventions this year. I can’t link to it as it’s for subscribers only, but here are a few of the inventions which most impressed me:

  • Magic mirror – this device uses Microsoft’s Kinect motion sensor technology to detect when you’re looking at it and can give you useful information such as your diary for the day as well as telling you the news and weather.
  • Cloth made from sour milk – apparently it is possible to extract protein fibres from sour milk and turn them into a cloth called QMilch. No chemicals are necessary and it feels similar to silk.
  • 20 year lightbulbs – new LED lightbulbs, due on the market next year, will give off the same quality of light as old-fashioned bulbs rather than the harsher quality of new bulbs. They cost more but should last 20 years and use less energy into the bargain.
  • Li-fi – another lightbulb invention. This one would see lightbulbs altered to transmit data wirelessly, thus solcing the problem of the rapid reduction of available frequencies for the transmission of wireless data.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Inventions of 2011

  1. k.m. says:

    The mirror thing reminds me a bit of the one in Harry Potter at the inn, who tells him to tuck in his shirt!

    Not sure if I am ready for my mirror to talk to me, even if it is to tell me my schedule 😉

  2. elentari86 says:

    Haha, yes, I hadn’t thought of that!

Leave a Reply

