Top 10 Best Cities In The World To Live In

Every year, the Global Liveability Survey ranks various world cities on their ‘liveability’ which consists of categories such as infrastructure, healthcare and education.

This year, Vancouver has been knocked off the top spot for the first time in nearly a decade, its score reduced by the closure of a motorway.

The new champ? Melbourne.

Melbourne Skyline, by Garretc

Here’s the top ten:

  1. Melbourne
  2. Vienna
  3. Vancouver
  4. Toronto
  5. Calgary
  6. Sydney
  7. Helsinki
  8. Perth
  9. Adelaide
  10. Auckland

A lot of Australian and Canadian cities there, and all places that sound fantastic to live in.

Incidently, London shows up at number 53.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top 10 Best Cities In The World To Live In

  1. Rachel says:

    How many have you been to?
    I haven’t been to any but Vancouver and Vienna are top of my to-visit list.

  2. elentari86 says:

    I’ve only been to Toronto. It was only for a day but I’d always wanted to go and I loved it. I’d really like to go back.

    From this list, I’d most like to visit Melbourne, Vancouver, Vienna and Sydney, I think.

    Thanks for reading and good luck getting to Vancouver and Vienna!

  3. k.m. says:

    I’ve been to Vancouver and Vienna. I don’t really remember Vancouver itself – we were visiting friends, not the city really – but I can see why people love Vienna. There’s so much to do culturally and it’s a very walkable city with great public transit. And everyone is so friendly! I went there for study abroad and definitely want to go back. I highly recommend it πŸ™‚

    • elentari86 says:

      Stop it, you’re making me want to go! πŸ˜‰ How long were you there for?

      • k.m. says:

        I was there for a month, for study abroad. I took an intensive German class for school credit back here in the States. I lived with some family friends in a little town outside Vienna (about 30 mins. from the city center) called Moedling (or Modling, with an umlaut over the o). The train system there is excellent, so I took in the train every day to class in the morning, and usually went to a museum or other cultural event in the afternoon/evening, and since there are so many museums there I was busy nearly every day! I’d recommend spending at least four days there probably, and even then you wouldn’t be able to see everything (I was there a month and missed some stuff too πŸ™‚ ).

      • elentari86 says:

        That sounds great! The advantage of being in Europe is that it wouldn’t be hard to get there one day. I will definitely bear it in mind, thanks!

  4. Madoqua says:

    I lived in Melbourne for a while and have visited many times. It is a pretty place and has a nice atmosphere, particularly in summer when everyone is out and about.

Leave a Reply

