A Life Less Ordinary

Having ticked the 3 Peaks off my bucket list, my friends and I have been trying to come up with ideas for our next adventure. Current possibilities include a tall ship sailing holiday and a coast-to-coast bike ride. While researching I’ve been bitten by the adventure bug a little bit.

Skydiving, by KathySmithFL

My 25th birthday is coming up in October and I thought it would be cool to see it in by crossing another item off the list – a skydive! I’ll probably do it earlier than my actual birthday as the later you leave it in the year the worse the weather is and the less likely you are to be able to jump. I haven’t booked anything yet but that’s the plan. I’d love to get it filmed but it seems to cost an extra £100 or so and they can only film one person.

Mount Kilimanjaro - 'Amboseli National Park', by JackieO10000

I have to give my cousin Dave a bit of credit for this because last time I saw him he was telling me that he is planning to climb Mt Kilimanjaro for his 30th next year. I think I’m going to steal that idea and do the same! I’ve always wanted to climb Kilimanjaro (it’s the tallest freestanding mountain in the world, and the tallest mountain in Africa) but it’s not cheap to climb! Once you include flights I’d be surprised if it would cost less than £2500 for a week.

When we climbed Snowdon there was a guy staying there who has done a few long distance treks in exciting parts of the world and when we met him he was on a two-week holiday riding his motorbike around Wales, camping or staying in hostels, walking, swimming in lakes, doing whatever he felt like every day and having a great time by the sounds of it. I was quite envious of his adventures and I want stories of my own to tell. That’s where my new mantra ‘A Life Less Ordinary’ comes in. I’m not kidding myself. I know my life is not extraordinary. I will never climb Mt Everest or travel the entire length of the Amazon. But I can try to make it a little less ordinary, by having adventures and trying to do things which are a bit different. They always say what you regret most will not be the things you did but the things you didn’t do.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Life Less Ordinary

  1. Jeanna says:

    I actually, quite liked your post. I am too… on a journey for less ordinary! I really enjoyed your post. I just booked my first White Water Rapids Rafting trip… and I cannot wait! I have been skydiving, over North Shore in Hawaii, and it is absoultely amazing! I definitely recommend! The video… is expensive and not really that necessary… you will never forget a moment of the experience!

    • elentari86 says:

      Thanks for the kind comment! I have been white water rafting once, with my school in Wales. I had a fantastic time and I’d love to do it again, properly (we only did a short stretch of river). Thanks for the skydiving tip – I’d quite like a photo, if not a video, but I don’t know if it’s possible.

Leave a Reply

