Why I Love Google Doodles

Did you see the Google logo the other day? It was a series of lines of different lengths which played a note as you moved your mouse over them. It was basically a guitar logo and it was in honour of legendary guitarist Les Paul’s 96th birthday.

Google’s standard logo is very familiar to most of us but they frequently design a new one, incorporating their usual logo to some extent (whether in the colours they use for lettering or the shapes of the letters) and display it on their site in commemoration of a particular event. It’s called the Google Doodle, which I think you’ll agree is a fantastic name.

I recently found out that Google keep an archive of Google Doodles. You can see it at http://www.google.com/logos/. They’ve been designing Google Doodles since 2000 and have made over 700 in that time, all drawn by a team of talented designers who get together to pick suitable events and sift suggestions from the public.

The Doodles are usually drawings, but recently the designers have been getting even more creative. For the 122nd anniversary of the birth of Charlie Chaplin (aside: the Google Doodle website refers to it as his 122nd birthday, which annoyed me because it can’t be unless he’s both still alive somewhere and incredibly old) they made a whole video:

My favourite, though, is the animated ‘20000 Leagues Under The Sea’ logo they created for the 183rd anniversary of the birth of Jules Verne (or his 183rd birthday if you’re Google – don’t get me started again). Make sure you use the lever on the right to explore the limits of the drawing through the ‘submarine’ windows.

Common sense would seem to indicate that it’s business suicide to mess around with your company logo so often, but it’s a quirk that sets Google apart. I suppose it’s less important to a company like Google because everyone knows who they are. I mean, who uses Bing? Their company name is in the web address anyway.

Still, it makes me like them more.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Love Google Doodles

  1. Bel says:

    I agree, those doodles are amazing at times. 🙂

    Bel

Leave a Reply

