Film Review: Thor (3D)

This film had great reviews, which is a little unusual for a superhero blockbuster, so I was looking forward to seeing it. It wasn’t quite as good as had I hoped, but I enjoyed it.

Apparently, Thor is a superhero character from the Marvel stable, who are also responsible for X-Men and Spiderman, among others. He is one of their lesser-known characters (in fact, before the film came out, I’d never heard of Thor on any context other than the Norse mythology upon which the character is based).

In the film, Thor is the son of Odin, king of a race of super beings worshipped by the Norse people as as gods. His arrogance and warlike tendencies get him banished from Asgard and sent to Earth, now a mortal man – albeit an extremely buff one.

The film is directed by Kenneth Branagh, which is odd as he normally works on more arty projects. He’s not the only one stretching his creative wings, as the female lead, Thor’s human love interest, is played by Natalie Portman. She rarely does blockbusters and is more commonly seen in quite serious films, such as Black Swan, for which she won the Oscar for Best Actress this year. Thor himself is played by little-known Australian actor Chris Hemsworth, who does an excellent job under the pressure of carrying a big film, while Antony Hopkins is good (as ever) as Thor’s dad Odin.

I thought the film could have made a lot more out of the fish out of water scenario of Thor finding himself on a completely different planet with new customs to adjust to. He seemed to find it too easy. Some of the CGI was also a little fantastical for my taste. As ever, I found 3D quite pointless as it isn’t terribly noticeable. While I didn’t think that the film fully lived up to its great reviews, I definitely enjoyed myself.

7.5/10

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Films and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Film Review: Thor (3D)

  1. m.d.kitchen says:

    I will definitely go check this out now that I know Branagh directed it. Should be interesting! Thanks for the review.

Leave a Reply

