In Praise Of Adele

I’m not what you would call an Adele fan, as such. I don’t own either of her albums and have never been to one of her shows. I like what music of hers I’ve heard (Chasing Pavements, Hometown Glory, To Make You Feel My Love – although of course, that’s a cover of a Bob Dylan song – Rolling In The Deep and Someone Like You) and it’s quite possible I’ll buy one or both of her albums somewhere down the road.

Even though I don’t have her albums, I am very much an admirer of her talent. She is a great singer and obviously a very talented songwriter. More than that, she doesn’t cavort around in skimpy clothes to sell her music. She lets it sell itself – and it does, because it’s good. Her songs are obviously very personal and you can feel the emotion in them. She really connects to the music, and through that to the listener.

Most of all, she’s a breath of fresh air. Most of the music in the charts these days is impersonal, overproduced rubbish, autotuned to such an extent it sounds unnatural and written in about ten minutes to conform to whatever pop radio trend is hot this week. You get none of that with Adele, which is why I was delighted to read last week that she broke Madonna’s record for the longest reign at number one in the British album charts when her second album, 21, reached its tenth week at number one. Yesterday it reached 11 weeks, and her first album, 19, dropped to number three.

All extremely impressive, and it’s very reassuring to see that sometimes, however rarely, good music does get played on the radio and does get bought. Now if only record labels would take heed.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

