UK Time Zone Change?

So the powers that be are considering changing the UK’s time zone. The plan would see our time pushed forward an hour, to match much of the rest of Western Europe (like France) and would continue to go forward an hour in summertime.

This means lighter evenings but darker mornings, which will apparently mean huge increases in tourism spending and increased overlap of working hours with Europe (but decreased overlap with North America). That said, we all dislike getting up in the dark and summer evenings stay light till 10pm or so anyway – why would we need it to stay light later?

I like light mornings! (Picture: Rosy-Fingered Dawn, by elentari86)

The strongest argument is that it will lead to a decrease in fatal car accidents. It’s hard to argue against that, really.

What do you think?

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UK Time Zone Change?

  1. gugelhupf says:

    I know when my dad was a child, there was something called double daylight savings time because of the war. It meant that people would be able to go to work in the factories and then come home and do farmwork in the evening. From what he remembers, people were pretty happy to go back to regular old daylight savings time afterward!

    Also, isn’t the UK only an hour behind France?

    However, the car-crash reduction sounds like a good reason. I hope they calculated for people driving in the early morning dark though.

  2. elentari86 says:

    Yes, we are.

    I’m not sure how much difference there is between accidents in the morning and the evening. Quite a bit, presumably, but I don’t really see why.

    • gugelhupf says:

      Maybe drunk driving at night, so either people drink less when it’s light(er) out, OR that they drive slightly less terribly when there is light out (even though they shouldn’t be drinking and driving!)?

      If you find the stats I’d love to see them though đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

