Chuggers

‘Chugger’ is short for ‘charity mugger’. You know them, they’re the the irritatingly happy people in tabards who try to stop you on the high street to persuade you to sign up to a direct debit to the charity they represent.

I understand why charities use them: they have to get money wherever they can and this method works to the to the tune of £120 million a year. That said, I personally always try to avoid them. They are endemic to the town where I work and some days I have to dodge them (sometimes 2 or 3 on each side of the road), the guys giving out vouchers for a free self-defence class, and the Big Issue sellers.

If you do stop to talk, they can almost bully you into it. That’s a drastic way of putting it but it’s hard to refuse money to a good cause when someone asks you outright. It’s hard enough on the phone. I just object to people asking me for money in this fashion; it’s invasive.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

