Some Thoughts On The News Of The Day

Today’s big story is that Hosni Mubarak, the president of Egypt, finally seems to have stepped down. It’s been almost amusing watching him offer concession after concession, trying to hang onto his position.

However, the army have taken over, when constitutionally it should be the Speaker. Let’s hope that it’s a temporary, soft coup until genuine, democratic elections can be arranged.

Of course, while the ousting of a dicatator is generally to be welcomed, this is a real ‘be careful what you wish for’ situation. Egypt could end up with an ultra-Islamic government that will be less friendly to the West than Mubarak.

In other news, West Ham won the bid to take over the Olympic Stadium after the Games. It boggles my mind that Tottenham Hotspurs’ bid was even considered. How could we in good conscience have accepted their bid after winning the Olympics partly by trumpeting the legacy of the new facilities? The Spurs bid would have torn down the stadium after it had only been complete for a couple of years then replaced it with one which didn’t allow any athletics facilities. Crazy. I’m glad West Ham won.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Current Affairs, Sport and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

