Six Nations Preview

The Six Nations kicks off tonight with Wales vs England in Cardiff. What an opener! I’ve been to the Millennium Stadium to see Wales play perennial wooden-spooners Italy and the atmosphere was great so I can’t imagine how much better it will be tonight in a what I expect to be a close match against the English. The Welsh love nothing more that beating us so it should be a good one!

A scrum in Wales vs Italy, Six Nations 2010, by elentari86

It’s difficult to predict who’ll win. Most of the teams have been hit by injuries, but they can be more easily absorbed by teams like France and England who have more players to choose from.

England played well for the most part in the Autumn internationals, especially against Australia and they have some playmakers who can worry the opposition. France can be very good, but they are inconsistent. Expect them to win against Italy and Scotland but they may struggle against the other teams. On the other hand, they may blitz them. Ireland have been particularly hard hit by injuries but they still have Brian O’Driscoll, their talismanic captain, so it’s not all doom and gloom in the Irish camp. Scotland have been struggling to score tries of late.

I find it difficult to see past a English or French overall victory and England may get the Triple Crown, but I don’t see anyone winning the Grand Slam this year.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Sport and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

