Technology and Innovation In My Lifetime

It occurred to me the other day that the advances in technology since my birth have been remarkable. I’m no scientist and I’m not as up-to-date with new technologies as some people, but just off the top of my head computers; the internet; sat nav and mobile phones have all either been invented or become widespread since my birth. All of these things have had huge impacts on our lives, with the possible exception of sat nav, which is merely pretty handy. For a society to develop such technologies and to improve them so much in the space of less than a quarter of a century is hugely impressive.

The amount to which technology has developed in this time is astonishing. There’s an old saying, that we landed on the moon with less technology than is contained in a modern digital watch. I don’t quite see how that can be true, but the wider point is well made. My mobile phone, for example, has vastly better functionality than our first computer. It has internet, sat nav, a music player, games. I can download apps to do many of the things the phone itself doesn’t do.

My generation is so fortunate to have grown up with these items, and it’s good to stop and appreciate that sometimes.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technology and Innovation In My Lifetime

  1. Peter Johnson says:

    But does this technology improve people’s quality of life and/or make them any happier than back in the good old days? Discuss (500 words max) ?-)

  2. elentari86 says:

    I think it definitely improves quality of life. Happiness is a harder question. Would you go back? I bet you wouldn’t!

    Thanks for reading, Peter!

Leave a Reply

