Giving Blood

I gave blood for the 18th time on Tuesday. Not bad considering you can’t start till you’re 17 and you can only donate 3 times a year.

Hardly anyone gives blood – only 5% of people who can, do. Why not? It takes less than a hour each time. It’s only three times a year and you are helping to save a life with every donation. It hurts a little, yes, but not much at all and it’s over very quickly. Most people don’t experience any negative reactions. They are possible, of course, but the staff are well-trained and will take care of you if you need it.

132/365, by fionandneil

All you have to do is fill in a health questionnaire, answer a few questions while you get your finger pricked (you barely feel this – it’s to test if you have enough iron in your blood) then give the actual donation.

If you or someone you loved had an accident or an illness which required blood, you’d expect there to be as much blood as was needed available to transfuse into them. It has to come from somewhere. It comes from people like you. Ordinary people who stop off while shopping or make a trip after work.

Make an appointment. Visit http://www.blood.co.uk. You’ll be saving someone’s life.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Giving Blood

  1. Bel says:

    I’ve always wanted to give blood but my blood pressure is too low so they wouldn’t let me.
    I have given up trying now.
    My husband gives blood every six weeks. My son has given once or twice, too.

  2. elentari86 says:

    Good on you for trying!

    Wow, the rules are different in Germany. Here you havee to wait four months between every donation!

Leave a Reply

