Some Thoughts on Celebrity and Fans

Apparently Katie Price has tweeted a message to her followers thanking then for their support after her split from Alex Reid.

The Metro refers to them as her ‘fans’. Surely she doesn’t have fans? People who follow her, yes (although I have no idea why), but fans? What is there to be a fan of, exactly? Usually a fan admires someone’s talent, whether in acting, sport, music or so on. If you don’t count her terrible cover of A Whole New World with ex-husband Peter Andre (and I’ve heard it, so I don’t) none of those apply. I can admit that she is a savvy busineswoman but I refuse to believe most of her Twitter followers follow her because they admire her business brain.

This brings up an interesting point. In my view, ‘celebrity’ and ‘famous’ are no longer synonyms. As I see it, someone who is famous is well-known for having a genuine talent in a visible field, whether they are a TV presenter, a actor, a singer or so on. Someone who is a celebrity is more ‘famous for being famous’. The origins of their fame may be lost in the mists of time and are often no more than that they are related to or dated somebody famous and went to a few fashionable parties. Someone may have first attracted attention as a ‘famous’ person rather than as a ‘celebrity’, but as soon as more attention is paid to their lifestyles and relationships than their achievements and talents they become a celebrity. Kerry Katona is a good example. She was first known as a member of girl group Atomic Kitten but I bet most people now, whilst knowing who she is, wouldn’t know that.

I understand why people follow the careers of people who have admirable talents. But why does anyone care who some ‘It girl’ or rock star’s daughter is dating, or what club they were at last night? People like that are only celebrities because they want to be and magazines have decided they are.

Price has worked hard to get in the public eye and harder to stay that way. I understand her motivation, what I don’t get is why anyone cares.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some Thoughts on Celebrity and Fans

  1. I knew someone who was doing a history PhD at York at the same time as me, who used to say, as a joke, that his ambition was to be famous just for being famous -without actually doing anything. Oh how we laughed…
    Guy

  2. Bel says:

    I don’t even know who Katie Price is. Do I need to know?

  3. elentari86 says:

    You really don’t.

    If it helps you understand the blog better, I’ll just say that she is aa former model who is now just famous for being famous and works very hard to keep her name in the tabloids.

Leave a Reply

