Lentil and Bacon Soup

There’s nothing like homemade soup for a weekend lunch in the winter. This recipe is a particular favourite of mine because I made it up myself. I’d heard of lentil and bacon soup of course, and I looked at a couple of recipes to see how many lentils to use, but basically this is my own recipe.

Ingredients

  • 2 pints vegetable stock
  • 200g split red lentils (washed)
  • 4 rashers of back bacon (cut into pieces)
  • 1 sweet potato (peeled and cut into small chunks)
  • 2 carrots (peeled and cut into slices)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (peeled and cut into small pieces)
  • Fresh rosemary (chopped into small pieces. I use all the leaves from a twig about 5 inches long)
  • 3 quarters of a teaspoon of cumin seeds

Serves 4-6.

Method

  1. Heat some sunflower oil or butter in a large pan and fry the onions on a medium heat.
  2. After about 5 minutes, add the bacon pieces.
  3. Wait until the bacon is nearly done then add the garlic.
  4. Meanwhile, boil the water for the vegetable stock. (Stock from powder is absolutely fine). When the bacon, garlic and onions are cooked, add the stock and the lentils.
  5. Add the chunks of sweet potato, then the carrot pieces.
  6. Put the chopped rosemary into the soup then leave to simmer for about 35 minutes. Check on the soup from time to time and add more boiling water if necessary.
  7. Test the vegetable chunks with a sharp knife. They should be soft. If they are ready, add the cumin seeds and mix well.
  8. Using a hand blender, blend the soup until all the chunks are gone and the soup is the desired consistency. You may need to add more water if the soup is too thick for your taste.

Reheat the soup if you want to eat it immediately. If not it will keep in the fridge for a few days and can also be frozen.

The soup should look like this when you start simmering it.


    The finished soup will look like this.

     

    About elentari86

    Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
    This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    2 Responses to Lentil and Bacon Soup

    1. k.m. says:

      I wonder how I missed this post, since I subscribe?

      Well, anyway, thanks for bringing it to my attention again, I love lentil soup! Now to track down that specialty butcher I heard of a while ago 🙂

      • elentari86 says:

        It was one of my earliest posts, you probably weren’t subscribed then (thanks for subscribing, by the way!)

        Let me know what you think if you make it! Feedback and suggestions much appreciated!

    Leave a Reply

    