Book Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Did that title catch your eye? I bet it did.

I’ve been reading mostly non-fiction in the last few months so I was beginning to miss having a good story to keep me enthralled! My mom and a family friend have both read this and enjoyed it so it seemed like a good choice.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by el_ramon

The book is set just after World War Two. Juliet Ashton is an author, out of ideas for her next book, who by chance received a letter from Dawsey Adams, a farmer on Guernsey. They strike up a friendship by letter and Juliet is fascinated by his stories of Guernsey under German occupation, as well as the titular literary society which Dawsey and his friends founded when they needed a story to explain why they’d been outside after curfew.

To say any more would spoil it, but what really impressed me about this book is how it can deal with such serious subjects without being too depressing. There’s a lightness of touch about the writing which keeps it from being too dark.

The book is an epistolary novel, told in letters between the characters. An unusual approach, but it really works! The main word which comes to mind when trying to describe this book is ‘charming’.

9/10

PS. Apparently a film is in development. I’m not sure how I feel about that.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Books, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

  1. gugelhupf says:

    It caught my eye, but that’s because I bought it for my mom last Christmas as one of her gifts. She really liked it (or at least was nice enough to pretend to…?)!

Leave a Reply

