Top 10 Photographs of 2010

Inspired by this blog, I’ve decided to put together a list of my favourite photographs I’ve taken this year.

I went back through all my 2010 Flickr uploads and these are the ten photos I’ve picked. These are in chronological order with the most recent first.

Winter, by Elentari86

This was taken on Boxing Day on a walk along the River Avon on the outskirts of Stratford-Upon-Avon. I was surprised to see that the river had frozen. I love the way the sunlight reflects off the ice and the shape of the clouds in the top right portion of the shot.

Autumn Leaves, by Elentari86

My Mom told me that the trees near her gym were a gorgeous colour so I drove over one weekend with my camera and took a few shots. This was the best one.

 

Wastwater, by Elentari86

This was taken on the way down from our Scafell Pike climb. If you look very closely you can see the outline of the Isle of Man.

Fire Lines 1, by Elentari86

The campfire on our August bank holiday camping trip afforded several opportunities for light trail shots once my friend Brockers lit a stick from the fire and started waving it around. I love the contrast of the red and black here.

 

Red, by Elentari86

A couple of friends and I went to an African-themed garden centre called Akamba. This flower really caught my eye with its bold colour. The shot’s not perfectly focused, but I do my best with a compact camera! I like this picture so much I even used it as the header of this blog.

 

 

Shades of Yellow, by Elentari86

More flowers! I like the little spider in this one; it adds a little detail.

 

 

Locked In, by Elentari86

The composition of this shot is what makes me like it. The wooden lines lead the eye. This was taken in Oxford.

 

 

Aben Eubanks, by Elentari86

I took this at a concert I attended back in February. There’s a fair bit of noise, but I was shooting from the back of the venue over everyone’s heads, so this is taken at maximum zoom and is actually cropped from a larger shot. I quite like the effect the noise gives it, to be honest. I also think the backlight adds something.

 

 

Going Up? by Elentari86

This shot was taken in Selfridge’s in Birmingham’s Bull Ring shopping centre. I saw the intersecting lines of the escalators and pulled my camera out straight away! The white shiny plastic material of the escalators contrasting with the dark clothes of most of the shoppers means it works really well in black and white.

 

Jephson Gardens In The Snow, by Elentari86

Another winter photo. I like the leading line created by the bench in this shot. It draws the eye towards the memorial which is the only object in the photograph with any colour.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top 10 Photographs of 2010

  1. jbenick says:

    You have some great photos here. I especially like the ‘winter’ photo and ‘locked in.’

  2. elentari86 says:

    Thank you! ‘Winter’ is one of my favourites too, though it’s a little dark on the right hand side.

  3. jeezycreezy says:

    These are all so gorgeous!
    I especially like “fire lines”, and the last one reminds me of a building in Myst (dunno if you’ve ever played it, haha)

    • elentari86 says:

      Thank you! I got several others at the same time as Fire Lines but that one is the best by far. a bit of a fluke to be honest. Never played Myst, I’m afraid,but I know it was supposed to be good!

  4. Sarah says:

    See Helen I told you, you should work in photography! 😉

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Photographs of 2011 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

