Film review: (500) Days of Summer

An unexpected upside to my New Years Eve celebrations was when I spotted this DVD poking out from the pile by the TV at my friends’ house. I’d heard of the film when it came out and it sounded like something I would like, but I hadn’t had the opportunity to see it, so when I spied the DVD I grabbed the chance.

I was right. I tend to like these slightly off-the-wall films – I love Juno, Amelie and Garden State which all have some stylistic similiarities to (500) Days of Summer, in terms of their structures and approach. This film has a number of such features, including jumping around in time. It’s mostly told chronologically, but also frequently flashes forward or backward to different dates in the relationship of our two protagonists. I also liked a split screen section, with the left of the screen devoted to Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character’s expectations of the party he is attending, and the right side given over to the reality. There’s even a dance number!

The film revolves around the ‘relationship’ (the word is used loosely) of Tom (Gordon-Levitt) and Summer (indie darling – I think being called that must be in her contract or something as there’s no better way to describe her – Zooey Deschanel).

Here is the trailer to give you a feel for it:

Tom is entranced by Summer when she starts working at his office. She likes him too, but tells him she doesn’t want anything serious. The film follows them as Tom falls hard and then suffers the inevitable fallout from Summer’s lack of interest in a relationship.

There are a number of laugh out loud moments in this film and it has a great soundtrack, including two Regina Spector songs and Sweet Disposition by the Temper Trap. The soundtrack could have been improved by including some of Deschanel’s band, She & Him, but you can’t have everything.

8/10

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Films, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

