My 2010 in review

It’s the last day of the year so it seems an opportune moment to look back on my year and remind myself that I’m not wasting my life as much as it feels like I am sometimes.

Work – still the same, minus a move into a snazzy new building. I’m looking for a new job but getting nowhere due to my lack of experience. I’m taking steps to improve that though, volunteering for a local sports club and even writing this blog!

Personal life – no major changes, minus the fact that my brother has moved to London so I don’t see him much but I do have a London crash-pad now.

Hobbies and holidays – I did pretty well this year. My brother and I did a sponsored run making around £200 for Sport Relief. I did 3 miles, he was a bit more hardcore and did 6. In June I took part in a charity raft race on the River Avon which was great fun. Our raft was made from metal barrels because we couldn’t get plastic ones, which meant that I scraped my leg on the metal when I was scrambling back in after one of the weirs. I had a ten inch long scratch and I still have a scar.

My friends and I spent the August bank holiday on the Gower in South Wales, camping. It was a fun trip and we got some surfing in which I was happy about! I even went back for a surfing day trip with my friends Kiz and Steve a few weeks later.

I also conceived the 3 Peaks challenge this year. I thought it would be cool to climb the three highest mountains in each of England (Scafell Pike), Wales (Mt Snowdon) and Scotland (Ben Nevis).

My friends Phil and Brockers did Snowdon with me in June. We stayed in a youth hostel and went up the Watkin Path. The weather was pretty awful – there was rain, hail, thick cloud, thunder and lightening. Unfortunately we couldn’t see anything from the top but there were some good views on other parts of the walk when the cloud cleared.

Snowdon Horseshoe, by Elentari86

In September, a larger group did Scafell Pike. I’d had no luck booking a youth hostel for this one but it worked out as I found a lovely farmhouse to rent which was a few hundred yards from a pub and about ten minutes drive from the foot of the mountain. The journey was problematic as we left on a Friday evening after work which meant arriving in the dark. The driver forgot to pick up a map so we had to make do with the very poor quality map provided by the farmhouse owners. We had to stop for directions but we made it eventually. The weather for this trip was much better, beautiful and sunny until we approached the top when it began to cloud over a bit. We could see as far as the Isle of Man!

View From Mickledore, by Elentari86

Ben Nevis is reserved for 2011 which should go some way towards ensuring 2011 is awesome! We’re also talking about going to La Tomatina festival in Spain which would be amazing! Fingers crossed it happens.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 2010 in review

  1. Pingback: My Bucket List | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

