Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part One, and the cinema-going experience

Last night I went to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part One for the second time.

After some confusion in the cinema foyer (they have stopped selling tickets at the main desk and started selling them at the food tills so you have to stand in enormous queues which take forever to move) we got in the cinema and sat ourselves down. The adverts and trailers progressed in their usual interminable fashion and when the film eventually started, the projector was playing the film on the bottom third of the screen and the first few rows of people! Someone had to go out and find a member of staff to sort it out. Not a great start.

I’m not like my parents, who dislike the cinema experience so much that they are willing to wait four years for a film to come on terrestrial tv unless it’s something they really want to see, but I too find many aspects cinema-going frustrating. You pay £7.40 to sit for two hours plus (nearer three once you include the adverts) while people around you eat noisy sweets, which naturally they don’t open during the trailers when no-one cares about extra noise but wait until the film actually begins. Don’t even get me started on the kids who go to films and don’t shut up the whole time.

Wooh. Rant over.

The film was fantastic, hence why I’ve now been to see it twice. I am quite the Potter fan but I really think this is the best one so far, even without a usual film structure (the lack of a conclusion is a necessity since it is one book split into two films) and probably less set-piece action scenes than previous films in the series. It is definitely darker but the fact that it isn’t trying to cram the whole book into three hours means it doesn’t really miss anything out, which as a huge fan of the books, I appreciate.

The three main actors are decent too; in each of the earlier films there have been several parts where the dialogue was not well-delivered and felt clunky and awkward, as is common with child actors. Not so in this film. The three stars felt more assured this time around. As you would expect, given that this series stars the cream of British acting talent, the older actors are also excellent. It is a little odd to see actors of the calibre of Alan Rickman restricted to only a couple of scenes, but this film is about Harry, Ron and Hermione and their journey and relationships. There is also a fantastic animated section telling the story of the Three Brothers, essentially a wizarding fairy story which relates to the plot.

All in all, 9/10. I am excited about Part Two, due for release in July, but I am also dreading it in a way because then it really is the end! When the book Deathly Hallows came out, it wasn’t really over yet because there were still several films, but that will be it.

All good things must come to an end…

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Films, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part One, and the cinema-going experience

  1. Pingback: Film Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

