Technology can be a pain

I recently got a new laptop. My old Acer had served me well for 5 years but it was high time to upgrade, and when a friend of mine nabbed a new Toshiba for £300 in Amazon’s Black Friday, the perfect opportunity was staring me in the face.

Transferring all my photos and music was much easier than I expected, but I have had terrible problems with the programs supplied with my camera and MP3 player. Both are two years old or more and neither, it would appear, works on Windows 7.

It didn’t even occur to me that this would be a problem. I can’t find any updates on the Creative website to fix my MP3 player issues – I can transfer music but can’t change the names of songs or albums or edit my playlists. I had to use my old laptop to do all that once I’d transferred it to the player from the new computer.
I am currently downloading an upgrade to the firmware of PhotoFunStudio which came with my Panasonic camera. Turns out my version is 2.0 and they’re now on 5.0 so I don’t know whether I have to download all the intermediate versions or if I can just skip ahead to the latest one. I can’t even find a third party program which will allow me to download the pictures straight from my camera to the My Pictures folder, bypassing Panasonic altogether.

Makes me wish I hadn’t left it quite so long since I last downloaded the pictures from my memory card.

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

