3 Weeks Off – So I’m Going To Rome!

I finished my job on Friday. It was a sad day, as I’ve been there 5 1/2 years, but a new job had come up which was exactly what I was looking for. I asked if I could work my full notice period and be paid in lieu for my leave, but wasn’t allowed to, so I find myself with 3 weeks off.

I’ve already got a list of things to do – I need to have a clear out and visit relatives as well as getting on with things related to the festive season: finish my Christmas shopping; write my cards, go to a couple of Christmas get-togethers etc. Plenty to do, certainly, but it’s an unparalleled opportunity so I decided to bite the bullet and go on a solo city break.

I decided on Rome for a number of reasons – it’s not too far, I can see the main sites in a couple of days, flights are cheap and it’s perfect for a history and photography buff like me. I will confess to nerves though. I’ve never travelled alone before and there is a language barrier, although many people will speak at least some English. On the whole I’m excited and I think it will be a bit of an adventure, but there are definitely nerves!

Rome, Italy, by Kerry Loggins

 

Now to squeeze research into my list of things to do!

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 Weeks Off – So I’m Going To Rome!

  1. Pingback: Solo Trip To Rome | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

