Lake District Adventure Holiday

A few weeks ago I headed up to the Lake District with the family for a week. I’d been able to get a caravan cheaply through work so why not? We were based on the shores of Ullswater, which was perfect. It’s a beautiful lake, much more rugged than, for example, Windermere, but also with a few small centres of civilisation so it doesn’t take half an hour to go out for some milk.

During the week, I climbed 3 mountains (Blencathra, Helvellyn and Skiddaw), swam in the lake and canoed to an island and around the southern section of Ullswater, as well as seeing the Aira Force waterfall. It really was a great week! Naturally, I took my camera – here are some shots.

Ullswater with the fells behind

Blencathra

Hall’s Fell Ridge – our Blencathra descent route

Our routes were chosen to be exciting – on Blencathra we chose to ascend via Sharp Edge, a narrow rocky ridge, and descend via Hall’s Fell Ridge, which is almost as bad! A bit of scrambling and climbing brings interest to any walk!

A mini waterfall in a brook at the bottom of Blencathra – photography practice time!

After a day’s rest we tackled Helvellyn, 3rd tallest mountain in England. Striding Edge was to be our ascent and we planned to descend via Swirral Edge and then Catsty Cam.

Our lunch spot on Helvellyn!

We decided to stop for lunch before taking on the mighty Striding Edge. Lots of other people had the same thought but full credit to my brother for spotting this place for lunch – what a view!

Helvellyn’s Striding Edge

View from Helvellyn

Our walk up Skiddaw was a bit less exciting. Not only is the route less interesting than Blencathra or Helvellyn (no ridge walks) but the weather was bad and got worse. It was quite cloudy on the lower slopes – this is the best shot I managed to get – but as we got higher the cloud surrounded us completely so we couldn’t see a thing. It also started to rain and the summit was incredibly windy, so between the cloud, the wind and the rain it wasn’t the best mountain experience of my life! At the summit there’s a plaque showing what you can see in the distance on a clear day, which was pretty annoying as we couldn’t even see the edge of the summit plateau!

View of Keswick and Derwentwater from Skiddaw

On the last day we went to Aira Force, a 62 ft waterfall. I took my camera tripod on the holiday for that reason and that reason alone, so I was able to experiment with slow shutter speeds to blur the water. I was really pleased with the results!

Aira Force from a distance

Brook at Aira Force

Aira Force and bridge

About elentari86

Apparently blogs need to cover a certain niche in order to attract readers. My aim is not to attract readers. I don't deny it would be nice not to just be spouting to myself, but the reason I set this blog up was to give myself somewhere to write down my thoughts. If anyone reads them, that's a bonus. This blog will cover a mix of things - anything that comes to mind that I want to write about. I make no promises about how often I will publish new content.
Image | This entry was posted in Adventure, Photography, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lake District Adventure Holiday

  1. ilonca84 says:

    Wow, stunning shots!!

  2. Pingback: A Look Back At My 2013 and A Look Forward to 2014 | Jumbled Contents Of My Head

Leave a Reply

